Saturday, July 21, 2007

Iceman start European GP from pole

Kimi Raikkonen will start Sunday's European Grand Prix from pole position. It will be the sixth time a Ferrari will start the race this season from pole position. Obviously Raikkonen was pleased with his pole position. Team-mate Massa had to do with third.

Kimi Raikkonen said about his pole position run: "Finally! In qualifying at the last race I made a mistake in the final part of my lap, but today everything went well and I've managed to get back on pole. In Q1 and Q2, I had some problems with grip, but once the car was carrying the fuel load for the first part of the race it was very good again. The wait after Hamilton's accident made the third session more complicated but the biggest problem was that it was all going to be down to one flying lap. Now I am in the best possible position on the grid, but I am well aware that we can expect a very tough race. All weekend the car has been very good but are rivals are still very strong. Lewis' accident? The important thing is that, as far as we know, he is not badly hurt." Felipe Massa said: "In Q1 and Q2 I was very happy with the handling of the car. The break because of Hamilton's accident certainly did not help matters and maybe I lost a bit of the right feeling. On my final lap I was a bit slower in the first and third sectors, just by a few hundredths but it was enough to make the difference. But I am still confident because I know I have a really good car in race trim."
Qualifying result :
1. K. Räikkönen Ferrari 1:31.450

2. F. Alonso McLaren 1:31.741

3. F. Massa Ferrari 1:31.778

4. N. Heidfeld BMW 1:31.840

5. R. Kubica BMW 1:32.123

6. M. Webber Red Bull 1:32.476

7. H. Kovalainen Renault 1:32.478

8. J. Trulli Toyota 1:32.501

9. R. Schumacher Toyota 1:32.570

10. L. Hamilton McLaren 1:33.833

11. N. Rosberg Williams 1:31.978

12. A. Wurz Williams 1:31.996

13. G. Fisichella Renault 1:32.010

14. R. Barrichello Honda 1:32.221

15. A. Davidson Super Aguri 1:32.451

16. T. Sato Super Aguri 1:32.838

17. J. Button Honda 1:32.983

18. S. Speed Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:33.038

19. V. Liuzzi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:33.148

20. D. Coulthard Red Bull 1:33.151

21. A. Sutil Spyker F1 1:34.500

22. M. Winkelhock Spyker F1 1:36.940

No comments: