Saturday, June 16, 2007

Alonso quickest in Indianapolis

McLaren's Fernando Alonso dominated practice in Indianapolis with thefastest laps in both sessions ahead of Sunday's United States GrandPrix.Alonso, who is eight points behind team-mate Lewis Hamilton in thetitle race, clocked one minute, 11.925 - just 0.153 seconds fasterthan the Briton.Hamilton brushed the walls on his first drive round the track butfinished second fastest with 1:12.309.Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen posted the third and fourth fastest laps.The Ferrari pair were off the pace in the first run, but Massa bouncedback with a time of 1:12.454 seconds and Raikkonen followed suit whenhe clocked 1:12.587 seconds.Brazilian Massa, however, was one of three drivers fined for exceeding the pit-lane speed limit - a week after being disqualified in Canadafor ignoring a pit-lane red light.Massa though, twice a winner this season, is confident his team can challenge McLaren on the podium come Sunday's race.He said: "I think on this track we are a bit more competitive than wasthe case in the last two races. I think we can fight for the topplaces."The Brickyard is the only circuit on the current calendar where doubleworld champion Alonso has yet to stand on the podium."This track has never been kind to me but I really want to do wellthis weekend," he said."The car has been performing strongly but I am sure both Ferrari andBMW will be at the front as well."His rookie team-mate Hamilton was pleased with his first outing atIndianapolis and said: "As this is the first time I have ever drivenat the Indianapolis track I spent some time getting to know thecircuit."We have a pretty good idea where we are going and should becompetitive but there's still a long way to go."German teenager Sebastian Vettel, who will make his Formula One racedebut on Sunday in place of injured Robert Kubica, was fourth quickestin the BMW Sauber in the morning but could only manage 11th in theafternoon.

Third practice times:

1. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1:12.150

2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:12.321

3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:12.378

4. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Renault 1:12.574

5. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:12.646

6. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:12.692

7. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:12.709

8. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 1:12.710

9. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull 1:12.940

10. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams 1:13.031

11. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:13.057

12. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 1:13.061

13. Antonio Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri 1:13.069

14. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull 1:13.289

15. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:13.318

16. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso 1:13.415

17. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri 1:13.476

18. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:13.573

19. Alexander Wurz (Austria) Williams 1:13.626

20. Scott Speed (U.S.) Toro Rosso 1:13.979

21. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Spyker 1:14.142

22. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) Spyker 1:14.402

Second practice times:

1. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1:12.156

2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:12.309

3. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:12.435

4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:12.587

5. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:13.026

6. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull 1:13.042

7. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams 1:13.057

8. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Renault 1:13.110

9. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:13.144

10. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:13.202

11. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:13.217

12. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull 1:13.263

13. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso 1:13.332

14. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri 1:13.364

15. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 1:13.394

16. Alexander Wurz (Austria) Williams 1:13.539

17. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:13.692

18. Scott Speed (U.S.) Toro Rosso 1:13.712

19. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri 1:13.753

20. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 1:13.765

21. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) Spyker 1:14.225

22. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Spyker 1:14.513

First practice times:

1. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1min 11.925

2. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:12.391

3. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:12.628

4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) BMW Sauber 1:12.869

5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:12.966

6. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams-Toyota 1:13.020

7. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:13.040

8. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull-Renault 1:13.159

9. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1:13.597

10. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull-Renault 1:13.682

11. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 1:13.777

12. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams-Toyota 1:13.786

13. Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 1:13.819

14. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:13.907

15. Scott Speed (U.S.) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:13.990

16. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 1:14.000

17. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri-Honda 1:14.037

18. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1:14.052

19. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Renault 1:14.189

20. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri-Honda 1:14.632

21. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) Spyker-Ferrari 1:14.636

22. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Spyker-Ferrari 1:14.810

No comments: