Saturday, August 4, 2007

Controversial pole for Alonso

Fernando Alonso stole a controversial pole position from Lewis Hamilton at the Hungaroring this afternoon after he appeared to block his McLaren team-mate from completing a final flying lap. This allowed the Spaniard to take pole ahead of his team mate and Nick Heidfeld in third.

Under sunny skies and hot conditions the first qualifying session got underway. Lewis Hamilton set the early pace with a 1m19.570s to finish clear of the rest of the field while Button, Barrichello, Sato, Vettel, Sutil and Yamamoto all dropped out. In the second session Massa suffered a technical problem as he tried to leave the pits and his Ferrari just ground to a halt. Mechanics sprinted down to the stricken car and quickly hauled it back to the garage. The team got the Brazilian back out on track with just three minutes remaining, but something still wasn't right and he could only manage a lowly fourteenth, dropping out with Coulthard, Kovalainen, Wurz, Davidson and Liuzzi. Lewis Hamilton set the early pace in the final pole shoot-out on a 1m19.781s lap but there was quite some drama to come. For the final run, Alonso came in ahead of Hamilton - the British driver waiting behind him. The mechanics lifted Alonso's lollipop, but the reigning champion did not respond. He stood his ground in the pits, holding Hamilton up for several seconds while the McLaren pit wall waved furiously at him. The net effect was Hamilton could not get out in time to complete another flying lap while Alonso went through to take pole by just over 0.1s. McLaren boss Ron Dennis was furious at the end of the session, collaring Alonso's personal trainer and marching him back to the team's motorhome. With the fallout to await, Alonso took pole ahead of Hamilton and Heidfeld in third. Kimi Raikkonen couldn't manage better than fourth for Ferrari while Nico Rosberg was a strong fifth for Williams. Ralf Schumacher took sixth ahead of Kubica, Fisichella, Trulli and Webber.


1. F. Alonso McLaren 1:19.674

2. L. Hamilton McLaren 1:19.781

3. N. Heidfeld BMW 1:20.259

4. K. Räikkönen Ferrari 1:20.410

5. N. Rosberg Williams 1:20.632

6. R. Schumacher Toyota 1:20.714

7. R. Kubica BMW 1:20.876

8. G. Fisichella Renault 1:21.079

9. J. Trulli Toyota 1:21.206

10. M. Webber Red Bull 1:21.256

11. D. Coulthard Red Bull 1:20.718

12. H. Kovalainen Renault 1:20.779

13. A. Wurz Williams 1:20.865

14. F. Massa Ferrari 1:21.021

15. A. Davidson Super Aguri 1:21.127

16. V. Liuzzi Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:21.993

17. J. Button Honda 1:21.737

18. R. Barrichello Honda 1:21.877

19. T. Sato Super Aguri 1:22.143

20. S. Vettel Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:22.177

21. A. Sutil Spyker F1 1:22.737

22. S. Yamamoto Spyker F1 1:23.774

No comments: